What is the EYFS?

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is the statutory framework for the early years which forms high standards of care, education and child development. The EYFS curriculum is used at all of our nurseries and pre-schools for children aged from birth to 5 years.

The EYFS sets out the welfare requirements that must be followed in order to keep children safe and promote their welfare. These requirements include the minimum number of staff required at nursery, how medicines should be administered and the risk assessments that must be in place.

The EYFS explains how your child will learn throughout their time at nursery. Children will gain skills and expand their knowledge through 7 areas of learning and development. Young children will develop the following 3 prime areas first:

  • Communication and language;
  • Physical development; and
  • Personal, social and emotional development.

As children grow, they will use what they have learned from the prime areas in order to develop new skills in 4 specific areas:

  • Literacy;
  • Mathematics;
  • Understanding the world; and
  • Expressive arts and design.

Each of these areas is used by our nursery practitioners to plan activities that are tailored to your child’s needs and interests. Children learn best by playing, exploring, and taking part in activities as well as through creative and critical thinking.

The EYFS was last updated in September 2014 in order to make the framework easier to use and focussed on the most important areas of child development. The new framework also shows how parents/carers can become more involved in their child’s development.

All of the activities that you do with your child at home will help to support their learning and development, and will have a lasting effect on your child’s learning as they progress from nursery throughout their school life.

You can check on your child’s progress at nursery by speaking to your child’s key person, who will be more than happy to show you your child’s learning journal and discuss their development with you.

If you would like any more information about the EYFS, please visit:


What is Ofsted?

Ofsted is the Office for Standards in Education, Children’s Services and Skills. Many people associate Ofsted with school inspections, however they also regulate and inspect all early years settings including nurseries, pre-schools and out of school clubs.

When Ofsted visit an early years setting they will carry out a thorough inspection to determine:

  • How well the early years provision meets the needs of the range of children who attend;
  • The contribution of early years provision to the well-being of children;
  • The effectiveness of the leadership and management of the early years provision; and
  • If the setting meets legal requirements for early years.

At the end of an inspection the provision will be graded one of the following:

  • Outstanding (Grade 1);
  • Good (Grade 2);
  • Requires Improvement (Grade 3); or
  • Inadequate (Grade 4).

All of our Ofsted reports are available to view on our nursery pages or you can search for a report here: www.reports.ofsted.gov.uk.